Stephen King

She sat in the back of the car, I could see here through the grill dividing me from her. Her face was pale, her lips were blue, and her arms looked cold and almost grey.Her hands were shaking as she ran her fingers through her hair. It was chilly in the car, but the reason she was shaking started long before the cold set into her bones. I dont blame her though, seeing something like, all the blood, its hard to deal with as a cop, much less a 20 year old girl. I couldn’t imagine walking in on someone i knew like that.
She hadn’t talked since I helped her out of the house, her small voice from the back of the car startled me and I had to swerve to keep on the road. “What was that hunny, I didn’t catch that,” I asked through a choking cough. “Can we pull over, I think i’m going to puke.” she said again. I didn’t want to take the chance of her throwing up in the back of the squad car, that’s always the worst thing to have to clean out, especially after a long night like tonight. I pulled over and helped her out of the car, she spit a bit but couldn’t seem to get any farther than a few dry heaves. I placed my hand on her back to help her back into the car and she wrapped her arms around me and started a long, slow sob.

Leave a Reply

