What the Night Knows

Reading is one of my favorite things to do. Ever since I was little, I could pick up a book and become the characters. It was my own way of escaping into a world that was so much better than my own. However, since I had to get a job while continuing to make good grades and play sports, I haven’t had a lot of time to read. Thankfully, I got a job that allowed me to read quite a bit.

Last summer, I read a book by one of my favorite authors, Dean Koontz. I chose the book, simply because it was written by Koontz and I knew that he wouldn’t disappoint me. I’ve read so many of his other books. The things he writes about, make you realize how thankful you are for your perfectly normal life. His detailed writing allows you to become the characters and that’s exactly what I want to happen.

The book that changed nearly every view point was called What the Night Knows. The story was based on a serial killer that hunts the one surviving victim and his family. What the Night Knows is about a man with a traumatizing childhood. The boy, Alton Blackwood, kept a diary, in which he wrote about the neglect he received. The young child grows up, lashing out in response to his abuse. He becomes a satanic worshiper and eventually becomes a serial killer. His first victim was a fellow student, John Calvino’s, family in Italy. He kills each person differently and specifically, while also preforming satanic rituals. When the murder gets shot and killed by the last remaining boy of the family, everything seems to be over. Honestly, it is just the beginning of a story that will last for decades. Nearly thirty years later, across the globe in California, a twelve year old boy named Billy Lucas, kills his own family. The original John Calvino actually becomes the detective of the murder case. Calvino realizes that his family is in extreme danger when he finds out that Billy Lucas killed his own family in the same, specific way that Blackwood killed his own family, three decades earlier

The book is beautifully written. In the book, Koontz uses a lot of dialogue and a lot of detail. He explains the scene greatly and makes you feel like you’re actually in the world. The way Koontz wrote What the Night Knows allowed me to escape into a world that I am deeply fascinated with. This book changed my way of thinking for the rest of my life.

